Honest Beauty – mascara

Hello beautiful people of the world.

I recently purchased Jessica Alba’s book The Honest Life to give myself more inspiration and knowledge about switching over to clean beauty and living habits. (I totally recommend this book btw, it’s a very easy read and very informative) And while I was at it I also decided to try her beauty line (Honest Beauty), so I headed over to my local Ulta and decided to take a look at the products.

img_7438
I needed a new mascara and thought I would try a non-toxic/natural/less chemical/’honest’ one – aka the Honest Beauty Truly Lush Mascara + Lash Primer!


I have only tried one other natural mascara and it did not work for me at all (in case you’re wondering, it was the Pacifica Aquarian Gaze Mascara). I have extremely straight Asian lashes and usually a good waterproof drugstore mascara would do the trick for me. (My favorites are L’Oreal’s miss manga & false fiber lashes and Maybelline’s lash stiletto)

Unfortunately, my quest for the an effective natural/non-toxic mascara will continue on; the Honest Beauty Truly Lush Mascara + Lash Primer did not work out for me.

Primer
Mascara

Negatives:

  • The product failed to hold my curl (I tried the mascara with and without the primer and both times my eyelashes fell straight down almost instantly)

Positives:

  • It comes off very easily with makeup remover (no tugging!)
  • It does a good job at not smudging and transferring to my undereyes/eyelids (I wore the mascara for 6+ hours)
  • I like that the packaging (primer + mascara in one tube) – makes traveling a lot easier

Although this product did not work out for me, I’m not opposed to trying the other Honest Beauty Products. I knew this one would be a long shot, an effective natural mascara that holds a curl will probably be the toughest products for me to find. But I did do a few swatches while I was at Ulta and am definitely interested in trying some of the face products that Honest Beauty has to offer.

Will I ever find a natural mascara that can hold an Asian girl’s curl? Please let me know if you guys have any suggestions!

2 thoughts on “Honest Beauty – mascara

  1. Thanks for sharing! It’s tough finding all natural products that work like we’re “used to”! I’ve tried a few of the Honest household products, my favorites being their spray conditioner & their peppermint scented bathroom cleaner.

    Like

Leave a Reply

