review: makeup remover 

My favorite thing to do at night is to take off all my makeup and wash my face and relax. For the past few months I was trying out a few different makeup removing products and decided to write a review on some of the products.

img_7313Simple micellar cleansing water: I give this product two big thumbs up! I have extremely sensitive skin and this product does not sting when I use it and it makes my skin feel super clean. I still like to wash my face with a face wash after using this product but the bottle says you don’t even need to rinse after using it and it’s true your skin feels so soft and clean! Overall I would definitely recommend this! I pretty much completely ran out of this product already and will be trying more clean aka natural/organic makeup removers, but I still really enjoyed this product and loved that it didn’t irritate my sensitive skin.

Trader Joe’s Jojoba Oil: I give this product a thumbs up for removing my eyebrows and waterproof mascara! It can get a little bit messy but after using it I go in with my regular face wash and my face does not feel oily. I also really like using oils to clean my delicate eye area because I no longer have to rub my eyes to get my mascara off, therefore I don’t lose eyelashes and eyebrow hair – I’d recommend this!

img_7315

Note: Normally I wouldn’t purchase towelettes or cleansing pads but I got these for traveling because I thought they’d be easier than bringing liquids on an airplane.

Acure coconut + argan oil cleansing towelettes: Trying to go all natural and organic in my skincare and makeup routine, I bought these cleansing towelettes (for my trip to Las Vegas). I absolutely did not like this product! Like I mentioned before, I have really sensitive skin and as soon as it touched my skin it stung. The product was effective at taking my face makeup off but the stinging is just not worth it and I actually wished the product was a bit more hydrating for the skin. The towelette also felt really dry after 10-20 seconds of being exposed to the air so I sometimes would have to grab a second towelette just to make sure I got everything. Overall, I wouldn’t recommend this to anyone with sensitive skin.

Simple eye-makeup remover pads: Also purchased for my trip… this product was not good. I used it mainly for my eyebrows and eyelids/eyelashes but it just doesn’t work for me at all. My waterproof mascara did not budge so I ended up tugging and losing eyelashes; it also took a lot more effort to remove my eyebrows (not a waterproof product). Also for a product that is designed for the eye area, the pad is not very soft… I would prefer a pad that feels more gentle on the eyelids, I’m not sure if the rubbing or the actual makeup remover solution irritated my under eyes, but the area right under the eye was left a little pink and irritated… Overall, I don’t recommend this product; I would much rather stick with an oil.

I hope this post helps someone looking for effective makeup remover and saves some time and money! Let me know if there are any great make-up removing products that you love!

Leave a Reply

